IMO Classes for Dangerous Goods

The Carriage of dangerous goods and marine pollutants in sea-going ships is respectively regulated in the International Convention for the Safety of the Life at Sea (SOLAS) and the International Convention for the Prevention of pollution from Ships (MARPOL).

Relevant parts of both SOLAS and MARPOL have been worked out in great detail and are included in the International Maritime Dangerous Goods (IMDG) Code, thus making this Code the legal instrument for maritime transport of dangerous goods and marine pollutants. As of 1st January 2004, the IMDG Code will become a mandatory requirement.

Classification of dangerous goods

For all modes of transport (sea, air, rail, road and inland waterways) the classification (grouping) of dangerous goods, by type of risk involved, has been drawn up by the UNITED NATIONS Committee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous Goods (UN).

Class 1.
Class 2.
Class 3.
Flammable Liquids
Class 4.1.
Flammable Solids or Substances
Class 4.2.
Flammable solids
Class 4.3.
Substances which, in contact with water, emit flammable gases
Class 5.1.
Oxidizing substances (agents) by yielding oxygen increase the risk and intensity of fire
Class 5.2.
Organic peroxides - most will burn rapidly and are sensitive to impact or friction
Class 6.1.
Toxic substances
Class 6.2.
Infectious substances
Class 7.
Radioactive Substances
Class 8.
Class 9.
Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles

Our helpful apps for faster and best shipping